This is a question my firm gets a lot. The fact it that all drivers are required under Georgia law to maintain liability insurance coverage. The reality is not all drivers have any insurance on their vehicles. As a driver in Georgia it would be beneficial to attempt to protect yourself from uninsured drivers.
There are ways to do this through selecting underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage. This insurance offers you coverage if you are not at fault and the at fault party either does not have coverage, or does not have enough coverage.
At this time the minimum limits of insurance coverage is $25,000/$50,000. That means the minimum insurance coverage will afford no more than $25,000.00 per person and no more than $50,000.00 per accident no matter how many people may be involved.
If you have underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage and are involved in an accident it is recommended that you notify your insurance company immediately.
While currently as of the date of this post you may have a two year statute of limitation, that may not apply to your own insurance do to the contract for coverage. In most insurance policies notice is required within days of a collision. If no notice is provided to the insurance pursuant to your policy, the insurance can and will deny you coverage. If you have any questions it is best to put them on notice and set up a claim.
There are too many collisions whereby there is no or not enough insurance. To protect your family look into underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage so you will not be one of them.
If you are injured in an auto accident and need a first-rate car accident attorney in Atlanta to help you through this difficult time, give me a call at (770) 948-5454 so I can find out a little more about your accident and how I can help.