Motorcycle riders in Georgia can be awarded financial compensation for injuries when a crash occurs due to the fault of another driver. The negligent driver could be held responsible for the accident and the damages incurred by the injured party. The injured rider can receive compensation for medical bills, lost wages, property damage, and pain and suffering.Savannah motorcycle
The minimum insurance policy that all drivers must carry in Georgia is $25,000. Often in motorcycle crashes the damages exceed the amount of the minimum required policy. For that reason it is recommended that all motorcycle riders carry Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage. UM/UIM comes into play in three circumstances:
- A rider is hit by a driver with no valid insurance coverage
- Damages are greater than the negligent driver’s insurance policy limits
- The negligent driver flees the scene of the accident and remains unidentified
Motorcycle accidents often lead to large damages simply because there is very little other than a helmet to protect a rider from the road and other vehicles. Motorcycle riders frequently face broken bones, road rash and contusions, and brain and spinal injuries when they are struck by other motorists. These kinds of serious injuries can lead to huge medical bills, missed time from work, and painful treatment and rehabilitation.
When a rider is seriously injured in an accident, it can be difficult, if not impossible, to get a fair deal from the insurance company. The last thing an injury victim wants to do is go up against a tough insurance company right after being hurt in a crash. The right attorney will work with you to make sure you have the strongest claim possible to achieve the best recovery for your damages.
While making sure you’re carrying the right kind of insurance and hiring an attorney are important considerations after being in a motorcycle accident, the most important way for riders to protect themselves is to always follow state law. Some important reminders to all riders in Georgia:
- All motorcycle riders must wear a helmet
- Eye protection must be worn if the bike doesn’t have a windshield
- A daytime headlight is required
- Riders may ride 2 abreast in a single lane, but no more
- Riders cannot drive between lanes of traffic or between adjacent rows of vehicles
- The liability insurance minimum limit all riders must carry is $25,000
To drive a motorcycle in Georgia, riders must obtain a Class M motorcycle license. Riders must be at least 17 years old, and if under 18, must have parental consent. A written test is given to obtain a permit, which is valid for 6 months. Under a permit, riders must only drive during daylight hours, and they may not drive with passengers. Before a final Class M license can be obtained, a rider must pass a skills test.
Take the Georgia Motorcycle Safety Quiz.
If you have questions today about your Georgia motorcycle wreck, give Ty a call at 1-866-937-5454.