We get calls every day from people who were injured in car accidents in Georgia and are looking for a personal injury lawyer to take their case. Unfortunately, we cannot take every case, and have to be very selective about the ones we choose. This way, we can spend all of our energy and resources handling the cases we have to the best of our ability.
Here are some basic questions we use to determine whether or not you might have the kind of car accident case that we would typically handle.
1) Do you expect to have at least $3,000 in medical bills and lost wages?
We only handle serious injury claims. If you are in a collision and not injured, or you just get checked out by your doctor and don’t need any follow up care, you can probably handle your claim on your own. But if your medical bills and lost wages just keep rising, you will need an experienced attorney to represent you to ensure the insurance company treats you fairly.
2) Was the car accident clearly another person’s fault?
We represent people who were injured in a car accident as the result of another person’s negligence. If you were at fault for the crash, we cannot pursue your case.
3) Is your vehicle badly damaged?
How bad does your vehicle look? The worse the damage to your car looks, the more seriously the insurance company is going to take your claim. This is not to say that an accident which does not cause a lot of visible damage does not cause injuries; however, you will have a difficult time convincing the insurance company you are badly hurt if you cannot even see any damage on your car.
4) Have you received prompt medical attention for your injuries?
If you have been injured in an accident, you need to seek medical treatment as soon as possible, ideally no later than three days after the date of the crash. Insurance companies are looking for any reason to minimize your claim, and an adjuster will argue that a large gap between the date of the crash and the first time you seek treatment for your injuries means you weren’t really that hurt.
5) When did your crash occur?
If your accident took place over 18 months ago, we might not be able to take your case. Currently, there is a two-year statute of limitations on negligence claims in Georgia. If your case is approaching that deadline, it becomes increasingly difficult for an attorney to do his or her best job representing you. A lawyer needs time to investigate the accident, the other driver, and all possible sources of insurance coverage. If you wait too long to find a lawyer, he or she is not going to have the time they need to investigate all areas of your claim before the statute runs out.
6) Has your medical treatment been consistent?
If you are seeking medical treatment for your injuries, you must be treating consistently. If you go weeks or months between sessions of physical therapy or doctor’s appointments, you are going to have a very hard time convincing the insurance company that you were really hurt and all of your medical bills are related to the accident.
Of course, these questions are just a starting point. You should contact an attorney for more information about your specific situation. All cases are different, and if you are seriously injured, you should consult a lawyer about the best way to handle your claim.
Ty Wilson is a personal injury lawyer in Savannah and Atlanta and strives to provide an abundance of free information on his website tywilsonlaw.com. Be sure to check out his many articles, videos and to download or order his FREE books, 10 Secrets of Georgia Car Wreck Claims and The Consumer Awareness Guide to Buying Car Accident Insurance in Georgia.
If you have specific question for a Georgia car accident lawyer, give Ty a call at 866-937-5454.