Stay Safe on Georgia Roads
Everyone knows that laws are in place to help save lives, but few actually understand the importance of these laws until it’s too late. The only true way to avoid accidents and injuries is to first, prevent them. Since there is danger involved in nearly every activity that we perform day in and day out, it can be hard to keep up with all of the regulations put in place to keep us safe from harm. Unfortunately, there are those that think that these regulations do not apply to them, so it’s especially important that you know what to look out for and hopefully what to expect in a potentially dangerous situation. The following are just a few of the laws and recommendation to keep in mind.Buckling Child
Motorcycles: Wearing a helmet is the only mandatory safety gear law. While there are no legal requirements for other protective gear such as knee, elbow, and shin protectors, it is a good idea to wear these items to prevent further injury in the event of a crash.
- All riders under the age of 16 MUST wear a helmet.
- When transporting children ages four and under, you must securely seat them in a child passenger seat, a bicycle trailer, or an infant sling.
- When riding at night, your bike must be equipped with a white light that’s visible from 300 feet away.
- You cannot carry any package or bundle of items that prevents you from having at least one hand on the handlebars.
Cell Phones and Texting
- All drivers younger than 18 are banned from cell phone use period. This is probably one of the biggest abuses of the law in motor vehicles in the present day. Most teens do not fully grasp the magnitude of the consequence of distracted driving, and the hope is to change the attitude of young drivers today.
- School bus drivers cannot use a cell phone while loading and unloading passengers, nor while the bus is in motion.
- All drivers, regardless of age, are banned from texting while behind the wheel.
- Headlights must remain on from a half hour after sunset to a half hour before sunrise.
- Headlights must also be on when it is raining and when visibility is reduced to under 500 feet.
Report Drunk/Unsafe Drivers
If you notice a driver behaving erratically behind the wheel, dial 911 immediately. When you are connected with the operator, be ready to provide a vehicle description, license plate number, and the direction the car is going as well as any landmarks or mile markers nearby.
Unattended Children and Pets
- Children: Currently, Georgia lawmakers are proposing a bill that would make it illegal to leave any child six years old or younger unattended in a vehicle. If you see an unattended child in a vehicle and suspect that they’re in trouble, dial 911 and remain at the car until authorities arrive.
- Pets: There are no existing laws in the state of Georgia that prohibit leaving a pet unattended inside a vehicle. However if you suspect that a pet may be in danger, follow the same procedure that you would with an unattended child. Dial 911, and remain at the vehicle until authorities arrive.
- Children under the age of eight must ride in approved safety seats or boosters that are suited for both their height and weight.
- Children between the ages of eight and 16 must wear a seat belt.
- Any child over 4’9” may use a seat belt in lieu of a booster seat.
It is important to check with your own state laws since laws vary from state to state. Some of the biggest challenges drivers face today is the use of mobile devices in vehicles. Not only is it against the law to text and drive, it is a steadily increasing cause of teen deaths in the U.S. Laws are in place for a reason, and they do not exist to frustrate you or complicate your daily schedule. The consequences of not following regulations are very real and can lead to serious injury or death. Be sure to share this information with those you care about. The more people we reach the more lives we can help save!
Be informed. Be aware. Be prepared.