Teen Driver Safety Tips
After getting a driver’s license, a teen’s first year on the road can be dangerous. Studies show that a driver’s highest risk for getting involved in a serious car accident is within the first 12 months after obtaining a driver’s license. Teens are also twice as likely as adults to be involved in a motor vehicle collision. To have the safest driving experience, consider these tips for parents and young drivers in Georgia.
- Be aware of your surroundings. Scan the road far ahead to learn about driving conditions and other vehicles on the road. Young drivers need at least 50 hours of training with an adult in a wide range of situations to be adequately prepared to face the road alone.
- Know your limits with regard to your level of experience. Don’t drive in a situation if you haven’t encountered it before, such as severe weather, winding roads, or heavy traffic.
- Be aware of distractions inside and outside of the car. Passengers and cell phones are the biggest distractions for teens. In fact, Georgia law mandates that new drivers have no peer passengers within the first six months of earning a license. For the next six months, new drivers are allowed no more than three peer passengers.
- Driving while tired or fatigued is just as dangerous as drunk driving. Studies show that driving after being awake for 18 hours is the equivalent of having a blood alcohol content of 0.08. That is considered legally drunk.
The most important way parents can help keep teen drivers safe is to be heavily involved in their driving training, and set strict rules and regulations once a driver earns his or her license for the first time. Studies show that teens whose parents set firm rules for driving are more likely to wear their seat belts and are less likely to take driving risks.
Ty Wilson is a car accident lawyer in Atlanta and Savannah and always offers FREE information to the public on the subject of personal injury claims. He has written books and reports that are available FREE of charge at tywilsonlaw.com. Also, be sure to check out his articles, blog posts and videos to find answers to questions about Georgia car accident claims BEFORE hiring a lawyer or talking to the insurance adjuster.
If you have specific questions and would like to speak to a lawyer directly, give Ty a call at 1-866-937-5454.