Georgia Governor Nathan Deal signed House Bill 685 into law on Thursday that will have vicious dog owners facing state-mandated penalties if their dogs injure anyone.
The legislation outlines definitions and the procedures for determining if a dog is vicious as well as outlines procedures for how these animals should be kept and handled, for example microchipping, muzzling, and keeping them in a secure, enclosed location. If dog has been deemed vicious, the dog owner must have $50,000 in liability insurance.
In an instance where a dog injures somebody for the second time, a dog owner could face a minimum of a year in prison and a $5,000 fine, and would be guilty of a high and aggravated misdemeanor on the first offense.
In Georgia, you have the right to pursue a liability claim for damages against a dog owner if you have been injured in a vicious dog attack. Call Savannah dog bite lawyer Ty Wilson for a free evaluation of your claim at 1-888-689-5224 and visit tywilsonlaw.com for helpful articles, videos and free book offers.
Read Ty’s article, Do You Have a Valid Dog Bite Claim?